Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Bank of East Asia, Limited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE

Dr. LEE Shau-kee will resign as an Independent Non-executive Director and cease as a Member of the Nomination Committee of the Bank with effect from 24th April, 2013.

The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") announces that as disclosed in the Bank's circular to shareholders dated 21st March, 2012 in respect of the Bank's 2012 Annual General Meeting, it was the intention of Dr. LEE Shau-kee ("Dr. Lee") that he would serve as an Independent Non-executive Director ("INED") of the Bank up to and including 23rd April, 2013.

Dr. Lee has tendered his resignation as an INED of the Bank with effect from 24th April, 2013. Accordingly, he will also cease as a Member of the Nomination Committee on the same date.

Dr. Lee has informed the Bank that he would like to step down as a Director of the Bank because of his busy schedule.

Dr. Lee has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

Dr. Lee was appointed a Director of the Bank in 1987 and has served the Bank for 26 years. The Board would like to extend its gratitude to Dr. Lee for his wise counsel and invaluable contribution to the Board and the Bank during his tenure of service on the Board and wish him every happiness, good health and success for the future.

For and on behalf of The Bank of East Asia, Limited David LI Kwok-po Chairman & Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 23rd April, 2013

Following the above-mentioned resignation, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po (Chairman & Chief Executive); Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun** (Deputy Chairman), Mr. WONG Chung-hin**, Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing*, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai**, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng*, Dr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong**, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai*, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming**, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen*, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze*, Mr. William DOO Wai-hoi**, Mr. KUOK Khoon-ean**, Mr. Valiant CHEUNG Kin-piu** and Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS*.

^{*} Non-executive Directors

^{**} Independent Non-executive Directors